Great Hall | Bruckner Saal

Who once sat in this hall, will not forget it. Acoustic brilliance, architectural perfection and elegant atmosphere - the Great Hall is the heart of the Brucknerhaus. Here, the Vienna Philharmonic played the opening concert, conducted by Herbert von Karajan.

Performance in Perfection

The Grand Hall, also known as Brucknersaal, does not miss its famous name giver in terms of impressive performance. The most beautiful concert hall on the Danube offers 1540 guests; thereof 1440 seats and 100 standing places.

The seats are distributed over 21 rows in the parquet floor and three possible additional rows (ABC), as well as five seat rows, which are located on the gallery. But not only the impressive dimension of the diversity of different seating places leaves a huge impression during a concert visit, especially the stage of the Bruckner's hall is breathtaking. With an area of 200m2 and space for up to 220 contributors, it draws all the stops of a modern concert hall.

Sonorous Details

Another highlight of the Bruckner Hall is the organ, which has 4224 pipes and 51 registers. This masterpiece of the instrument was made by a Dutch company.

The special acoustics of the hall are made up by the wood cladding. The wood thickness is at least 6 cm and the different structure of the wood directs the sound. In addition, the sound is distributed by hanging aprons. The reverberation time of 1.7 seconds is also an impressive reference for a modern concert hall.

In the hall there are 66 points of train with a load capacity of 250kg each, 4 extendable step pylons, 2 stage lifts. The performance of the lifts is considerable. Thus, the orchestra lift is 29m² in size and has a load capacity of 4t and a lifting height of 8.5m. The piano lift measures 19.5m2 and has a lifting force of 2t and a lifting height of 8.8m.

In a nutshell: The Great Hall of the Brucknerhaus is a building highlight, which not only impresses with impressive figures, but above all with acoustic excellence.

Pictures

Der Große Saal | Bruckner Saal

Wer einmal in diesem Saal gesessen hat, wird es nicht vergessen. Akustische Brillianz, architektonische Perfektion und elegante Atmosphäre - der Große Saal ist das Herzstück des Brucknerhauses. Hier haben die Wiener Philharmoniker das Eröffnungskonzert gespielt, dirigiert von Herbert von Karajan.

Performance in Perfektion

Der Große Saal, auch Brucknersaal genannt, steht seinem berühmten Namensgeber in Punkto beeindruckende Performance um nichts nach. Der schönste Konzertsaal an der Donau bietet 1540 Gästen Platz; davon sind 1440 Sitzplätze und 100 Stehplätze.

Die Sitzplätze verteilen sich auf 21 Sitzreihen im Parkett und drei möglichen Zusatzreihen (ABC), sowie auf fünf Sitzreihen, die sich auf der Galerie befinden. Doch nicht nur die beeindruckende Dimension der Vielfalt an verschiedenen Sitzplätzen hinterlässt einen gewaltigen Eindruck bei einem Konzertbesuch, vor allem die Bühne des Brucknersaals ist atemberaubend. Mit einer Fläche von 200m2 und Platz für bis zu 220 Mitwirkende zieht sie alle Register eines modernen Konzerthauses.

Klingende Details

Ein weiteres Highlight des Brucknersaals stellt die Orgel, die 4224 Pfeifen und 51 Register hat, dar. Dieses Meisterstück des Instrumentenbaus erfolgte durch eine holländische Firma.

Die besondere Akustik des Raums macht die Holzverkleidung aus. Die Holzdicke beträgt mindestens 6 cm und die verschiedene Gliederung des Holzes lenkt den Schall. Zudem wird der Schall durch herabhängende Schürzen verteilt. Auch die Nachhallzeit von 1,7 Sekunden ist eine beeindruckende Referenzzahl für ein modernes Konzerthaus.

Im Saal befinden sich 66 Punktzüge mit einer Tragkraft von jeweils 250kg, 4 ausfahrbare Stufenpodien, 2 Bühnenlifte. Die Leistungsfähigkeit der Lifte ist beachtlich. So ist der Orchesterlift 29m² groß und verfügt über 4t Tragkraft, sowie 8,5 m Hubhöhe. Der Klavierlift ist 19,5m2 groß und hat eine Tragkraft von 2t und eine Hubhöhe von 8,8m.

Kurz zusammengefasst: Der Große Saal des Brucknerhauses bildet ein bauwerkliches Glanzstück, welches nicht nur mit beeindruckenden Zahlen, sondern vor allem mit akustischer Exzellenz überzeugt.   

Bildergalerie