Markus Rupprecht © Fotoart Wiesner / Regensburg
We 27. Sep 23
19:30 Main Hall Brucknerhaus Linz
Markus Rupprecht
past event
past event

Organ concert

After his impressive debut with works by Olivier Messiaen and his students in the 2021/22 season, organist Markus Rupprecht returns to the Brucknerhaus Linz to present pieces by female composers of the Romantic, early Modern and contemporary eras as part of the International Brucknerfest Linz 2023. Alongside well-known names such as Fanny Hensel, Clara Schumann and Sofia Gubaidulina, female musicians are also represented who, despite the outstanding quality of their works, still eke out a niche existence in the shadow of their male colleagues. From the Swedish composer and organist Elfrida Andrée, one of the first representatives of her field in Scandinavia and also an eloquent pioneer of the women's movement, the path leads, among others, via Claire Delbos, Messiaen's first wife, and Jeanne Demessieux, perhaps the most influential French organist of her time, to the present day Dorothea Hofmann, recalling Andrée's words, which she noted in her diary in the autumn of 1870: "There is a woman who thinks and feels, who writes music, not for salon flattery, but to preserve the prestige of humanity, if not sooner, then at the latest after her death."


Fanny Hensel (1805–1847)

Praeludium F-Dur, H 242 (1829)

Clara Schumann (1819–1896)

Praeludium und Fuga g-moll, op. 16, Nr. 1 (1845)

Dorothea Hofmann (* 1961) 

„…brennend wie eine Fackel…“ (2020)

Clara Schumann

Praeludium und Fuga B-Dur, op. 16, Nr. 2 (1845) 

Florence Price (1887–1953)

Fantasy, I. Satz aus: Suite Nr. 1 (1942) 

Clara Schumann

Praeludium und Fuga d-moll, op. 16, Nr. 3 (1845) 

Elfrida Andrée (1841–1929) 

Orgelsinfonie h-moll (1891)


Sofia Gubaidulina (* 1931)

hell und dunkel (1976) 

Elsa Barraine (1910–1999) 

Deuxième Prélude et Fugue g-moll (1929)

Claire Delbos (1906–1959) 

Paraphrase (1939)

Germaine Tailleferre (1892–1983)

Nocturne (1977) 

Jeanne Demessieux (1921–1968) 

Te Deum, op. 11 (1957–58)


Markus Rupprecht | Organ