Mitra Kotte © Andrej Grilc
Tu 12 Sep 23
19:30 Middle Hall Brucknerhaus Linz
Piano Recital
past event
past event

"A woman does not have to want to compose" - the lives of women composers between self-confidence and self-doubt

"I once believed I possessed the talent to create, but I have returned from this idea, a woman must not want to compose - none could yet, should I be destined to do so?" With these words, which she confided to her diary in the autumn of 1839, Clara Schumann validly summed up the ambivalent fate of women composers in the 19th century between self-confidence and self-doubt. Not only were women mostly denied the opportunity to freely develop their art by male colleagues, but they often lacked confidence in their artistic abilities, as their self-image was strongly influenced by patriarchal social norms. The exhibition in the foyer in front of the Middle Hall invites you to learn about the fascinating lives of some of those female composers who nevertheless managed to realise their artistic visions - at least in part.

Following the opening, the up-and-coming pianist Mitra Kotte, who celebrated her Brucknerhaus debut in November 2022 with an acclaimed Satie evening alongside Erwin Steinhauer, will present a hand-picked selection of piano works by the women composers represented in the exhibition in the Middle Hall.


Louise Farrenc (1804–1875)

Souvenir des Huguenots. Fantaisie et variations sur le célèbre choral protestant de Luther F-Dur, op. 19 (1837) 

Emilie Mayer (1812–1883)

sound waves. Valse in D major, Op. 30 (1871) 

Marie Jaëll (1846–1925) 

Impromptu a-moll (1871)

Luise Adolpha Le Beau (1850–1927) 

Original Theme with Variations in F minor, Op. 3 (1874) 

Cécile Chaminade (1857–1944)

Piano Sonata in C minor, Op. 21 (1886, 1895) 


Amy Beach (1867–1944) 

Four Sketches, op. 15 (1892)

Dora Pejačević (1885–1923)

Selection from the cycle Život Cvijeća (Life of Flowers), op. 19 (1904–05) 

Nadia Boulanger (1887–1979)

Vers la vie nouvelle (Towards a new life) (1918) 

Maria Hofer (1894–1977) 

The machine. Toccata (1937) 

Vítězslava Kaprálová (1915–1940) 

Dubnová preludia (April Preludes), op. 13 (1937) 


Mitra Kotte | Piano