Vladimir Jurowski © Simon Pauly
Fr 22. Sep 23
19:30 Main Hall Brucknerhaus Linz
Vladimir Jurowski,
Yefim Bronfman &
Bavarian State
past event
past event

Lover, Virtuoso, Angel

After ten years, Vladimir Jurowski, General Music Director of the Bavarian State Opera in Munich since the 2021/22 season, returns to the Brucknerhaus Linz with three absolute masterpieces of music history. In addition to the prelude to Richard Wagner's opera Tristan und Isolde, which in its time set out to break the boundaries of Romantic harmony with the famous "Tristan chord", he, the two star soloists and the tradition-steeped Bavarian State Orchestra have in their luggage Robert Schumann's Piano Concerto in A minor. At the premiere of this work on 4 December 1845, twenty years before the premiere of Wagner's opera, probably the most famous pianist of her time sat at the piano: Clara Schumann. Both works are juxtaposed in the second half with Gustav Mahler's Symphony no. 4 in G major, in the final movement of which the composer made "heavenly joys" sound through the unusual use of a solo soprano: "There is no music on earth / That can be compared to ours, / Eleven thousand virgins / Dare to dance, / Sanct Ursula herself laughs to it, / Cecilia with her relatives, / Are excellent court musicians, / The English voices / Encourage the senses, / That everything awakens for joys!


Richard Wagner (1813–1883)

Prelude to the opera Tristan und Isolde, WWV 90 (1857–59) 

Robert Schumann (1810–1856)

Concerto in A minor for piano and orchestra, op. 54 (1841, 1843, 1845) 


Gustav Mahler (1860–1911)

Symphony No. 4 in G major (1899–1901) 


Elsa Dreisig | Soprano

Yefim Bronfman | Piano

Bavarian State Orchestra

Vladimir Jurowski | Conductor