Markus Poschner © Kaupo Kikkas
Fr 22 Mar 24
19:30 Main Hall Brucknerhaus Linz
Markus Poschner &
Orchester Linz

17:30 h
Presentation of the commemorative publication and opening of the exhibition
7:30 pm
Festive concert

Festive concert to mark the 50th anniversary of the opening of the Brucknerhaus Linz

Exactly 50 years after its opening, the Brucknerhaus Linz is celebrating the half-century of its existence with a grand musical festival. As in 1974, the Bruckner Orchestra Linz and its principal conductor will give a concert on the eve of the ceremony, featuring a world premiere and two works with a connection to Linz.

Under the direction of Markus Poschner, the Five Pieces for Orchestra entitled LETTERS by the Linz composer Rudolf Jungwirth will be heard for the first time, followed by two "Linz Symphonies": Ludwig van Beethoven's Symphony No. 8 in F major, on whose autograph score the composer noted "Sinfonia Lintz im Monath October 1812", and, how could it be otherwise, Anton Bruckner's Symphony No. 1 in C minor in the version of its Linz premiere, which took place on 9 May 1868 in the Redoutensaal, which was just 220 m² in size. Bruckner, as his biographers August Göllerich and Max Auer report, was apparently anything but satisfied with the result at the time: "The instrumentation of the orchestra, 6 primary violins, 3 violas, 3 cellos and 3 basses, despite the single wind parts, was completely inadequate for the work, just as the hall proved to be far too small for the mighty swells of sound."
On the stage of the Great Hall in the Brucknerhaus Linz, which has an area of 200 m², almost the dimensions of the entire Redoutensaal, there is enough space for a cast more than twice as large, and floods of sound can unfold here unhindered. The size and acoustics of this architecturally masterful hall would, we can assume with some certainty, have delighted Bruckner.


Rudolf Jungwirth (* 1955)
LETTERS. Five pieces for orchestra (2023-24) [world premiere].

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Symphony No. 8 in F major, op. 93 (1812-13)

- Break -

Anton Bruckner (1824-1896)
Symphony No. 1 in C minor, WAB 101 (1865-66) "Linzer Fassung“


Bruckner Orchester Linz

Markus Poschner | conductor